Angelina: Blood & Honey

Magazine issues with her have gone by, I smile at the cover and move on. Yet when I passed the newsstand, Octobers Vanity Fair sporting Angelina, caught my eye. I’m very happy that I read this article, it somehow lessened bits of personal confusion and became a giant stimulus.

Within a month, supposedly, Ang had finished her first screenplay, In the Land of Blood and Honey which will show in December as her directorial debut. A story of love and brute force during the Balkan war and likely a showcase of yet another Jolie-forte. The film was birthed from a small budget and released as independent, though there is nothing paltry to Graham King as producer and Angelina as two in one director/writer. I’m curious about what she has made; my opinion will be unbiased though I’m impressed that she has dived into creating her own. “It was something I didn’t trust out of my hands…so by default I ended up putting myself in as director.”

“I had the flu, I had been quarantined from the children for two days.  I was in the attic of a house in France. I was isolated, pacing… So I started writing. I went from the beginning to the end. I didn’t know any other way” she says. Alright, well, I just had a cold and lately have quarantined myself from the general public by a need for mental sanctuary- where is my instant script? Words, add hot water? But here’s the thing, instead of rolling my eyes at her line “..I get impatient with people working on a film that have their head in their hands like it’s the most complicated thing in the world” the woman has an excellent point. I think the secret to her one month (subtract the months having to laboriously perfect for an average Jane, due to her boundless connections) is that she wrote out of impulse, motivation. Why belabor a story if you are devoted to the message- In her case, the trials that people of Bosnian and Serbian nationality had to endure during the time.

Something I have found amusing and compelling, is her balance of humility and generosity; forged with a matured, self assured insouciance that carries her to a place unlike others. Throughout the article there are glimpses of her vulnerability concerning this new found undertaking, “You put your blood on the page when you’re a writer.” Then in the same breath, regarding her reviews that will explicitly and expeditiously follow, “I’ve never valued somebody’s opinion of me over my own sense of right and wrong.” To be honest that is probably why she is successful in her own right, aiding the world, and with a cute Jolie bunch around her. Her perfection, as anyone’s, is subjective and subject to fault, though she remains someone I deeply respect.

