Recent Clever Films

Robot & Frank

robot&frankI Say: Phenomenal

Frank Langella, Susan Sarandon

Lonely older father & ex thief, is given a care taking robot by his son. I don’t want to go further than that because I found it to be an unbelievably original concept, & I highly recommend. See it.

The Sessions

the sessionsI Say: Emotionally rousing

John Hawkes, Helen Hunt, William H. Macy

A man paralyzed from the neck down from polio, seeks an erotic, inevitably vulnerable experience through a sexual surrogate. Based on the essay by Mark O’Brien. Made me laugh through his humor in the hand he was dealt. A reminder that life can be full throughout struggle.

Citadel

citadelI Say: Truly frightening

Aneurin Barnard, James Cosmo

Horror is my favorite genre. And for all of films I watch, routinely searching for the one that will give continuous chills, make me breathe heavily, it has been difficult lately to find something that will remain with me, after it has come to a close. I am also highly critical of anti-climatic endings that leave me with cinematic blue balls. This film made my skin crawl & kept me on edge. After seeing his wife killed by a group of feral ‘children’ he must fight through the aftermath of agoraphobia, and ultimately protect his new baby from the return of the ominous pack. It felt grimy- when you view, you’ll see what I mean. It’s a sweaty palm flick.

The Awakening

the-awakening-movieI Say: Clever as hell

Rebecca Hall

I am not biased because Hall is incredibly beautiful- this film gave me the jumps I crave, awesome concepts and it’s easy to invest in the plot. Cynical woman that squashes mysticism is called to work on something that she cannot solve, & trips out.

